SR22 Insurance Virginia
What is SR22 Insurance
If you have had your driver’s license suspended and are trying to get your driving privileges reinstated, you may have heard of SR22 insurance. This is a special kind of insurance made for “high risk” drivers who have had their licenses suspended or revoked for various reasons. Here are some of the situations that may lead to a driver’s license suspension:
- The driver either did not insure their vehicle or they did not pay the fee ($500) for having an uninsured motor vehicle.
- The driver was convicted of a reckless driving charge and their license was suspended in a court order related to the case. This is most likely to happen with repeat offenders or situations where the reckless driving led to an injury or death.
- The driver was supposed to complete a driver improvement clinic, usually due to moving violations, but they did not finish it or furnish proof of completion.
- The driver did not pay fees, fines or child support as ordered.
- The driver supplied alcohol to a minor or someone who was already inebriated.
- A driver who accumulates too many point on their driver’s license may receive a suspension.
- The driver develops a physical or mental health issue that prevents them from safely driving a vehicle. For example, a person with uncontrolled epilepsy might be at risk of having a seizure while driving.
- The driver received a judgment for a motor vehicle crash where they were at-fault, and did not pay the judgement. This may coincide with failing to insure their vehicle.
What is the Coverage for SR22 Insurance?
This liability insurance will satisfy Virginia’s minimum insurance requirements of $25,000 for bodily injury or death of a person, $50,000 for bodily injury or death of more persons, and $20,000 for property damage, plus the same in uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. (In other words, you cannot “opt out” of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage by paying a fee if you require SR22 insurance. Drivers who don’t need an SR22 are allowed to opt out for a $500 fee.)
Remember that liability insurance only covers bodily harm or property damage other people suffer in an accident where you are at fault – it does not cover your own injuries or property damage in this situation. You will need to buy separate insurance coverage for that.
Is an SR22 Proof of Insurance?
Yes. The SR22 is a form your insurance company provides the DMV to prove you have insurance coverage. You can request it at the time you purchase your insurance.
How Long Does SR22 Insurance Last?
You will be required to maintain this coverage for three years to keep your driver’s license. If your coverage ends for any reason (such as not paying the bill), the insurance carrier is required by law to notify the Virginia DMV of your coverage loss right away.
At this point, things may become more complicated and expensive. The DMV will send you a “notice of suspension” and you will once again be without driving privileges. In order to have them restored, you will again need to have your insurance carrier file an SR22 bond with the DMV, which will likely mean having to pay any outstanding premiums and possibly other fees to the insurance company. After this requirement is satisfied, the DMV will then charge you a driver’s license reinstatement fee. The bottom line is that it’s much easier and more cost-effective to avoid letting your SR22 insurance coverage lapse.
What is the Best SR22 Insurance in Virginia?
You willhave to shop around to get the best deal on SR22 insurance in Virginia. It’s helpful to keep in mind that this insurance is intended for drivers who are rated as “high risk” by the state of Virginia. As a result, it is going to be more expensive than typical insurance coverage anywhere you go, although one provider may offer a slightly lower rate than another. Additionally, not every insurance carrier sells SR22 coverage, because some would rather not take on high-risk clients. For this reason, you may not be able to stay with your most recent insurance carrier. Instead, you might need to seek out other companies that specifically handle SR22 coverage.
What is Non-Owner SR22 Coverage?
If your driver’s license has been suspended and you want it back, you will have to provide proof of insurance to the state even if you do not own a vehicle. Non-owner SR22 insurance will cover you if you rent a car or sometimes borrow a family member’s vehicle, and it is usually less expensive than the coverage for owners.
What is the Difference Between SR22 Insurance and FR44 Insurance?
SR22 insurance is for driver’s license suspensions due to non-DUI serious traffic violations. FR44 insurance is for drivers whose licenses were suspended for DUI-related convictions. It is similarly expensive and not available from every carrier.
Is There Any Way to Avoid the Need for SR22 Coverage?
If you have been charged with one of the violations listed above but have not yet been convicted, there may still be time to avoid a conviction. The best thing to do in this situation is to contact an experienced Virginia criminal defense lawyer immediately for a consultation about your case. In many situations, a skilled attorney may be able to help you avoid a conviction. The sooner you call, the more time they will have to work on your defense.
If you have been convicted of a serious traffic violation, it is extremely difficult to get such a conviction overturned/set aside. If you have been convicted and your license is suspended, SR22 coverage will be necessary to regain your driving privileges.
Is an SR22 the Only Requirement to get your Driver’s License Privileges Back?
Unfortunately, no. In most cases, you will need to meet other requirements that vary depending on the reason for your suspension. Other possible requirements include:
- You may have to take a driver improvement clinic.
- If your suspension was related to medical issues, you will probably be asked to submit a medical report from your healthcare provider stating that the health issue in question has been resolved or is now under control.
- In some cases, you may need to provide proof you completed the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP). You might also need to participate in an intervention interview with a representative of VASAP.
- If your license was suspended due to non-payment of child support, you may need to submit proof that you are current on these payments.
- You might need to show proof that you paid your jail fees or paid off a judgment against you if this was the reason for your suspension.
- In most cases, you will have to pay DMV reinstatement fees and any applicable licensing fees.
- You will most likely need to go to the DMV to show your identification and a court order permitting restricted driving privileges.
If you or a loved one have been charged with a serious traffic crime, please contact us at Lugar Law for a free consultation. If we take your case, we willdiscuss your options, go over the evidence in the case, and create a strong strategy for fighting your charges.